In The Land Of The Blind, You Must Exorcise Daily


 

 

 

 

 

There are those women and men whose observation
consists in an exaggeration, a statement made
by which they stand and proclaim that any logic,
any slight chance of disagreement betrays:
no affinity between you and I, none now or again

You have challenged my throne, knave or fool
you must begin to earn the abasement which I
endured, for ages even though
on the way you’re ex deus machina, and such
certainty invites the hallucination I dare not

Speak nor entertain, thus remaining yours alone –
shadow puppet to a fate abandoned long ago, phantom
noises echoing endlessly down those empty corridors

From which you strive to stray, limning the pain
the chalk efflorescence tainted now marking,
the crime for which you stand in, whose safety
in abandonment eventually
you make haste to escape before it becomes memory

© Dean J. Baker

Buy a book🙂 If the Createspace links do not work, try here –http://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM –

click on the photo to order, or go here for this book, and more:

http://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

****if you wish to add me on any social media sites –*** Facebook, Twitter,*** etc., – feel free to click the relevant links*****

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “In The Land Of The Blind, You Must Exorcise Daily

  1. Once again, over these many months, we appear to be ruminating in kind…………my woodshedding has seized all the blood in my brain, captive in linearity, and I cannot presently poetize………….thank you…..

    Like

      1. Oh, that is how I do produce poems. But, lately, my mind has had to devote itself to music – the preparation, interpretation, and mastery thereof. I think there’s just no room for creating in both modalities, until the program is complete. I mean, I wouldn’t know with certainty; these are just speculations. But, I do value your sharing your own process. It’s an honor, actually. Where are you located? I don’t think I ever knew.

        Like

Say something...Share,.. Reblog if you enjoy

