Sonnet


 

 

 

 

 

 

Your beauty no more than I can take
My words, that show, these rehearsals make.
I seek the gathering sun in this heart
Whose mud and stone drive me apart;
As from myself I want another I, that
Shines where darkness blots my sky.
And wheels over heaven I dare not count,
Unless by substance I increase amount,
Of those faults whose relief is sweet
By perfection stealing base needs from me.
As less than human I keep safe the crown
For shall be when it is underground:
Then do I know desire alone’s no infirmity
Which meets not the match that burns eternity.

©Dean J. Baker

-excerpt from The Mythologies Of Love, 90 pages, $14.99

These poems are advertisements for the BOOKS – discover what you’re missing..

all my books on salehttp://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Biography   

alternatively, direct from CreateSpace – https://deanjbaker.wordpress.com/all-print-books-links/

<–Check this out: Poetry & How It Gets That Way updated!

also posted – https://ohcanaduh.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/the-herald-2/

****if you wish to add me on any social media sites –*** Facebook, Twitter,*** etc., – feel free to click the relevant links****

Say something...Share,.. Reblog if you enjoy

