.. from DARK EARTH.. ‘Bathurst Yards’


 

 

 

 

 

 

Sprawled in this boxcar apartment,
no one’s serious
the disturbance temporary

The end of the line,
the lock breaks –
the cargo falls out over-ripe

We shall never get there;
blueprints and maps
do not provide an idea of progress

Which does not matter,
stepping from the rails
to meet familiar ground

Watching how the sun I own
goes down through these trees:
our wings, folded like those leaves

©Dean Baker

********..from a review..”Rabelais and Hieronymus Bosch look out of dark chinks in these poems… instead of Emerson’s “Whim” above Dean’s lintel we might assume “Melancholy” resides here… that dark brooding that laughs below, and rises through the bones to jerk you awake from your too lazy sleep of existence.”***********

7 thoughts on “.. from DARK EARTH.. ‘Bathurst Yards’

  1. One of my fave poems of yours! Although I bought it over a year ago, I’m actually reading Dark Earth right now. I do however, own a much read, treasured and signed copy of the Herald. Thank you, Dean!

    Like

      1. Okay!
        So, I own Riparian Fields. I have only dabbled in your verses therein, as I wander about your poems and prose, book to book. I will say I noted a change here. I need to read it all to put it into my words in a review.

        Like

BUY A BOOK - SAVE YOUR BRAIN

