..from DARK EARTH.. ‘This Is Poetry’


 

 

 

 

 

 

This is poetry

I’m sorry I don’t
agonize over the poem
I apologize for everything
spoken, and unknown

I repent my deeds
Misinterpreted, or not
my torment won’t be forced

I acknowledge
you are the final arbiters of taste

I do admit
I investigate emotion
with my thousand bad habits
yet I still own the lines
and music, you would supervise
though you will allow
others to tell you otherwise

I know if I succeed
I have earned your praise and lust
If I have displeased
I must be shown
the multiple errors of my way

but I confess to nothing
In this experiment
of sunsets and slaughter
where you always know
more than I could hope to show

 

©Dean Baker

[read further here]

  • excerpt from DARK EARTH, 142 pages, $18.99 – and since it is the first day of National Poetry Month -> ‘In the face of an ever diminishing interest in one of the oldest arts, poetry, this book serves as an introduction why that interest should be revived in schools and individuals: illustrating the loss that accrues by not doing so, and the benefits to society through a passionate involvement in the poetic arts.Poetry has been an essential art in history and is in danger of being trivialized into extinction.
    Several seminal events in recent literary history are detailed in illustrating how poetry is not merely an adjunct to history and culture but can elucidate, influence and in changing perspective alter those same events and deeds.
    Find out more in this treatise more sociologically descriptive than academically oriented.’104 pages, $15.99
  • DARK EARTH
  • “I know of NO modern writer, still alive, or dead, who writes with such honesty, such power, and, such erudition.”
    “Dean is a combination of thought and torment that has made him write more than a baker’s dozen of fine poems.. he might produce a collection that could astound us all.” – Irving Layton (“CANADA’S GREATEST POET” – LEONARD COHEN)
    “Having read Dark Earth by Dean J Baker my first reaction is WOW. This was written for me. His poetry speaks to me deep down in my soul.”
  • ALSO.. do check this post here for April’s Fools – PAYTRIOTISM
  • and for NATIONAL POETRY MONTH –> POETRY & HOW IT GETS THAT WAY
  • my books http://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM
  • My Books In Print
  • My Ebooks
2 thoughts on “..from DARK EARTH.. ‘This Is Poetry’

  1. If you demand on the one hand/ the raw material of poetry in/all its rawness and/that which is on the other hand/genuine, you are interested/in poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

BUY A BOOK - SAVE YOUR BRAIN

