from The Mythologies Of Love… ‘Banditry’


 

 

 

 

 

 

I offer you my hand: you swing
the axe faster than the eye can see

I tell you my love: you wish
me well with these labors in hell

I proffer gifts wise men do not bring:
you refuse permission of such bribes

I kneel down beside you: without enmity,
or attack, you pat me on the back

I accede to your lack of humanity:
you feel my politics are not Third World

I wonder where you find yourself: we
sing and stare, the bare moon our ornament

I know you are there as well: hiding
behind the True, the Good, the Beautiful

©Dean Baker

-excerpt from The Mythologies Of Love, 90 pages, $14.99

• my books – http://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM-

Save

2 thoughts on “from The Mythologies Of Love… ‘Banditry’

BUY A BOOK - SAVE YOUR BRAIN

